Home

To those who are not familiar with BEC, it is a newly established club for Indonesian bloggers who are interested in learning and improving their English. The abbreviation itself stands for Blogger English Club which was founded by these three dynamic individuals, Dani, Nita and Ryan. It has only been over a month but the club is growing rapidly and just last Wednesday, the 100th participant joined who was Ibu Srie Indriyani, ย the Head of Library of the country’s Ministry of Education and Culture. I think that’s pretty awesome, don’t you?

With the relentless efforts of the administrators (we also have Deva and Andik), a lot of things have improved namely sessions schedule, method of learning, topics of discussions, down to posting study materials online. These people sure do put their heart and soul into this club. I would not be surprised if BEC one day would turn into a huge community and is reviewed in one of the nation’s leading newspapers/magazines.

I am honored to join the club as a contributor in the morning session. Aside from me, there are three other amazing mentors too, mbak Yoyen, Eva, and mbak Nana. It has been really great sharing my little knowledge to the hungry and excited crowd. My methods are certainly far from perfect and I struggle from time to time trying to explain a certain material fearing that I do not provide them with a strong fundamental of the language, but it has been very rewarding as through the process my understanding of English is also enhanced from elaborating and watching other mentors run their sessions. I gained plenty of new cheerful friends, learned new tricks on blogging (I am a newbie after all) and got a bit more structure to my mundane days as a temporary housewife (it does give me a routine :-D).

Moving forward, I do hope that BEC will make headways with a lot more wicked programs!! Cheers!!!
Please check out BEC on twitter too.

Image is provided by BEC.

49 thoughts on “[EF] What about BEC?

  1. “I wouldnโ€™t be surprised if BEC one day would turn into a huge community and reviewed in one of the nations leading newspapers/magazine.” That’s my wish too, Mba Mikan, which I believe will come true someday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ุฌุฒุงูƒ ุงู„ู„ู‡ ุฎูŠุฑุง ูƒุซูŠุฑุง ูŠุง ุฃุณุชุงุฐุชูŠ ุงู„ู…ุญุจูˆุจุฉ
    May Allah reward you with goodness, oh my beloved mentor

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Why the post is entirely using English while the comments are in Indonesian language? This post reminds me to my English Club in Bogor during my junior high school until senior high school times (1998-2004). It had the same name BEC which stands for Bogor English Club. The program was aired by RRI Bogor twice a week, every Tuesday and Thursday. But at beginning it was three times a week (Monday, Wednesday, & Friday nights) from 8 pm-10pm. We also had monthly meeting which was always held in the middle of the month. Since my departure to Borneo Island, the club was not going on. So sad to hear this issue.

    Oh sorry, my English isn’t good. Nice to read this post, and nice to see you Miss Mikan ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • Commentators ought to remember that your post is to discuss the interest in the English language, and they tried to improve their English skills. But you did not remind them of the importance of this point. True you said everyone has a viewpoint and a different preference, but the fact is you are supposed to be reminded because you are the owner of this post you would also act as a moderator, right? It’s just my opinion. I am sorry if less pleasing ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I don’t have any obligation to remind them to do anything. It’s my blog and not a timid classroom setting. I believe that the readers are in control of their own actions and not everyone is at the same English mastery level. Some people are confident in commenting in English and some are not there yet. That’s perfectly okay for me. The point is we strive to create an interactive and friendly club Whic is accomodating to its members ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

